A Trip to a Little Free Library

IMG_20160307_151644354-1

For the Reader’s Room Winter Scavenger Hunt Challenge, we were asked to find our nearest Little Free Library, within a 30 mile radius.

I had the choice of two libraries, each a short drive from my home. Around the time of the challenge, we were experiencing bad weather in the North West of England, and Summerseat, where one of the libraries is located, had suffered from the river breaking its banks.

I decided that I would visit the Little Free Library in Chelford. I didn’t want to just turn up, even with a couple of books in hand to make my swap. It seemed to me that the library was a community initiative and I was concerned that a stranger coming in and raiding the book stock might not be appreciated. I emailed the Chair of the Chelford Tenants & Residents Association, who had set up the library.

I needn’t have worried about visiting. Mike sent me a lovely email by reply, welcoming my visit and asking to know more about the challenge.

I planned my visit for a rare day off. It was gorgeously sunny, and the drive south through the lanes around Mobberley and Knutsford was most enjoyable.

I’d emailed Mike again to let him know the date of my planned visit, and I was hoping to meet with someone from the Association to have a chat about the library.

I didn’t get chance to chat with anyone from the Association. I arrived mid afternoon, and there were few people around, so I had a look through the library. It’s a substantial box and the books were three deep.

IMG_20160307_151739858_HDR

I pulled a few out and discovered two that had been on my wish list for a while, one of which was Salmon Fishing in the Yemen. Then I uncovered a real treasure: a copy of Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell. Set in a fictionalised version of nearby Knutsford, it was the perfect book to bring home and read for the Challenge.

IMG_20160307_152107987_HDR-1

I left behind the books  I’d taken with me to make my swap.

IMG_20160307_151845700_HDR

And then, for the purposes of the challenge, I took a selfie.

IMG_20160307_151923001

I really enjoyed my trip to Chelford and my visit to the Little Free Library there. It seems like it’s a well used resource in the community, and there was a really good selection of books for me to pick from.

I feel like I want to get involved with my local community group and see whether we can set up a Little Free Library round here. Finding time to be involved is the issue for me.

Do you have a Little Free Library near you? Have you visited it? Or did you set it up? What do you think about the movement?

Leave a Reply

