3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 3 – Crime and Punishment

This is my third and final post in the 3 Days, 3 Quotes series that came out of a nomination by Weezelle.

Today’s quote is from Crime and Punishment.

I know, I know, I need to stop banging on about how good Crime and Punishment is. Except I don’t. Because it is an incredible work of literature.

I saw clear as daylight how strange it is that not a single person living in this mad world has had the daring to go straight for it all and send it flying to the devil! I…I wanted to have the daring…and I killed her.

Crime and Punishment is a portrait of megalomania and an exploration of why we can’t take the law into our own hands if we want society to work. Even if we believe that society is fundamentally broken and needs setting right. Raskolnikov is obsessed with falseness and injustice, and a belief that a man can perform one crime to rid society of vermin as long as he then balances it out with good deeds. In carrying out those good deeds, he would wipe clean the sin of the crime. I feel deeply for Raskolnikov throughout the book. I think he’s wrong. You can’t expect to get away with actual murder just because you think some less scrupulous people in society are getting away with metaphorical nature, and you’re the self-appointed justice-bringer. That’s fanaticism. But I understand why he feels the way he does, as he sees the difficulties his mother and sister are in following the death of his father and as as result of the cost of his education. And I understand his disgust at those in society who prey on the vulnerabilities of others, from the pawn broker to his sister’s fiancé.

Life, eh? It’s tricky. Why do the bastards grind us down?

One thought on “3 Days, 3 Quotes: Day 3 – Crime and Punishment

Leave a Reply

