The Miniaturist

1447250931-01-_sx142_sy224_sclzzzzzzz_

Read 26/03/2016-27/03/2016

Rating: 4 stars

Read for the Reader’s Room Winter Scavenger Hunt Challenge

I was recommended this book by the owner of one of my local independent bookshops. I’d had enough of the heavy stuff, so I asked her to recommend something light. I gave her a few pointers about what kind of fiction I like, and she came up with Jessie Burton’s debut novel.

It’s a well told story about expectation, disappointment, secrets and betrayal. At times it seemed quite a modern story to me, at odds slightly with its 17th century setting. Sometimes the language didn’t feel right, but that didn’t stop it being a gripping read. I finished it in a day.

The main character is a young woman, Nella, who is married off by her mother to a rich merchant in order to secure her future. The marriage of convenience doesn’t meet Nella’s expectations, but teaches her a whole range of other things.

There are echoes of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell in the strangeness that envelopes Nella’s new life. She is an intelligent and curious girl who doesn’t take being treated as a child lying down. She has spirit and a mind of her own and is determined to winkle out the truth behind her new husband’s life.

In an attempt to distract her from the inadequacies of her new life, her husband buys her a cabinet modelled on the rooms of his house. Her sister in law provides her with promissory notes and the 17th century Amsterdam equivalent of the Yellow Pages, and Nella begins to furnish the house with the assistance of a mysterious miniaturist who knows more about Nella’s new life than Nella herself does.

I enjoyed the references to spices and other scents, and the way they are used to add another dimension to the descriptions of Nella’s environment and the people within it. I loved the air of mystery and Nella’s tenacity. She is a likeable protagonist. The tension as the story unfurls is exquisite. My heart was in my mouth at times, almost unbearably so.

The story is also about choice, in particular choices made by those who aren’t recognised or accepted by society as having rights. This Amsterdam household is made up of people who must hide their truths from wider society and who work together to create a kind of freedom that is also a prison.

2 thoughts on “The Miniaturist

  1. I can’t believe you finished this in a day. You must be a gung-ho reader! It was a great read though. I loved her ability to re-create the texture of the historical context.

    Like

    1. Sometimes it happens, Weezelle. I get so sucked into the world created by the author that I don’t want to leave! I agree, she got the sensory and the descriptive spot on. I think a lot of research went into the setting, but she has a good feel for people as well, which is what hooked me in. I’m still thinking about the characters today!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

