The Real Neat Blog Award

rsz_1img_20160319_113246

I’m very surprised to learn that Brontë’s Page Turners nominated me for one of those blog awards. I’m surprised because it feels like I’ve only had this blog for two minutes. Thank you for liking my blog, Brontë. The feeling is mutual.

You should, by the way, read Brontë’s answers to the questions asked by the blogger who nominated her.

My header image today is the small pile of physical books I have yet to read. It’s to illustrate my answer to Brontë’s first question. There are other books elsewhere in the house, not to mention those on my Kindle.

I don’t usually understand blogging awards. I got one once that involved putting a picture of the award on your blog, but nothing else. Odd. This one seems more fun. At least you get to recommend other blogs you like and answer some questions.

Here are the rules:

1. Thank and link the blogger that nominated you.

2. Answer the 7 questions that the nomination has provided you.

3. Create 7 questions for your nominees.

4. Nominate 7 other bloggers.

Brontë’s questions and my answers:

How many books are on your TBR list? Be honest now

According to what I have added to LibraryThing, I have 114 books. I might be lying to myself, though. In fact, there are the three Maigret books I added to my Kindle last night (sucker for a well placed bit of Amazon click bait, I am). At the start of the year I had 109 and I resolved not to add any more. So that’s going well.

What is your greatest bibliophile skill (mine is walking and reading)?

Tuning out the noise around me and reading through other people’s attempts to communicate with me. Particularly useful on public transport and in the brew room at work.

What is your finest bibliophile dream (mine is to have a house big enough to house all of my books adequately, rather than them being split between my flat and my parents’ home, but I suspect that that is unlikely in Cameron’s Britain)

To somehow acquire what Jane Austen might call a private income that allows me to open a bookshop with my baking friend with comfy armchairs and couches so people can have a good read, eat good cake and maybe even buy a book every now and then.

What is your worst bibliophile nightmare (mine is someone giving my books away and I find them in my local charity shop and no one will listen to my woe)

Suddenly discovering that I’ve read all the wrong books and having to start again, reading from some horrible list of books compiled by a fascist nutjob.

If you could thank one person for turning you on to the joys of reading, who would it be?

My mum. I seriously can’t remember not being able to read. My mum taught me before I went to school. She worked as a library assistant and brought home some really good books. By the time I was in what we called Infant 3 (I’m old, I don’t do these new fangled year grades, suffice to say I was aged 7), I had to take my own books into school because the set books were too easy for me. That’s my mum’s fault. Bless her.

If your partner is a fellow bibliophile, do you merge book collections i.e. get rid of duplicate copies of books you both have? Or is this too much to expect, even in a long-term relationship? Am I worrying about this too much?!!

No. My books are mine. Some are gifts from people. Some are well thumbed and well loved. I don’t want joint custody of my books, as much as I love my husband.

Paste and copy a picture of the most beautiful book you own.

Item 5

Item 5_2

My questions to my nominees:

Where’s the best place in the world you’ve ever visited?

Why did you start blogging?

Which book(s) have you started reading and been unable to finish, and why?

George R R Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire: what is all that about?

What’s your favourite book from childhood?

This week, I discovered that the comedian and 41st best stand-up Stewart Lee has always given his pets the full name of an actual person. His cat is called Jeremy Corbyn. Who would you name your next pet after?

And now, I nominate:

The Reader’s Room

The Very Hungry Baker

Tokidoki

Backpacker Lee

Retiree Diary

Cooking With A Wallflower

Wise Monkeys Abroad

They might not choose to participate, but I love their blogs, so you might want to read them.

3 thoughts on “The Real Neat Blog Award

  1. That’s great that you were nominated! I shared your bibliophile skill in my childhood—I’m the oldest of six and I was a master of tuning out my surroundings. But in college I developed an acute Fear of Missing Out, and now I’ve somewhat lost that concentration. Your One Hundred Famous Views of Edo is absolutely gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had a friend at university who suffered with FOMO! She was convinced we were living on the periphery of everything.

      The Hiroshige book was a birthday surprise from my husband. I luxuriated in reading it. I should post my review…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

