Journey to the Centre of the Earth

1853262870-01-_sx142_sy224_sclzzzzzzz_

Read 05/10/2014-06/10/2014

Rating: 4 stars

I first read Journey to the Centre of the Earth when I was 8. My local supermarket sold pocket editions of classics at pocket money prices. I loved this one. It was incredibly exciting and nerve tingling. 35 years later, I decided to read it again following a discussion on Facebook about what some of our favourite childhood reads had been. My pocket money pocket edition is long gone, so I got a copy for my Kindle from Project Gutenberg. It is as good as I remembered. Fast paced and funny, if a little implausible at times (I can take ichthyosaurs and plesiosaurs living in a subterranean sea, not sure about the ability to acclimatise to differing air pressures as you travel towards the earth’s core on foot, though), it is deserving of its classic status. I appreciated the humour more as an adult, finding it funnier this time around than when I read it as a child.

I discovered that my childhood version and the one I downloaded are an abridged translation with the names of the main characters changed, so I’ve downloaded another version from Project Gutenberg, which is supposed to be more accurate. To read another day, though!

 

Leave a Reply

